RetroMacCast

Where great old Macs live again!

Let's share stories of our first Macintosh experiences! I'll go first.

It's been a few years now, but I seem to recall that I first sat down at a Mac in a department store in shopping mall in Wichita KS around 1985 or 1986. They had a single Mac on a desk just off the furniture sales area. Nobody was even there to sell it so I sat down and started drawing things with MacPaint. I'm not sure I had even heard of the Mac until then so it was quite mesmerizing. Later, I would get MousePaint for my Apple //e to try to recreate that experience, but it wasn't the same. It's amazing how rudimentary MacPaint is by today's standards, but back then, it was revolutionary!

Views: 187

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

While I had been using an Apple ][ europlus since 1980, my first Mac experience was while undertaking a summer job in 1984 at Melbourne University. At the time I was programming an Apple //e to collect, manupulate and plot data collected from a digitizer pad system.

One of the researchers there had just taken delivery of an original Mac 128k and was using CricketGraph to plot statistical charts. I remember having to do a lot of disk swapping, but thinking the application was very easy to use. At the time the output on the Imagewriter I wasn't as good as my HP pen plotter of the day for statistical charts, but that soon changed.

My next contact was with a lab of Mac SE's in 1986 which I used to download software from the University FTP site for my Apple //. It wasn't until 1990 that I finally purchased my first Mac - a Mac IIsi.
I remember the IIsi well because my roommate in college got one. He had his IIsi in glorious color with the gigantic 13" monitor, and I plodded along with my faithful SE until my first color Mac, an LC III. I used to use CricketGraph on that SE. It was light years ahead of the other data presentation programs we had available on the PCs on the VAX at the time.